You are using an old version of your web browser.

Please note that the website might not function correctly using an outdated browser. We recommend updating your browser or using another one.

This site uses cookies to offer you the best user experience. By continuing browsing this site you agree to the use of cookies. Alternatively you may change your browser settings. For further information, please read our Privacy Notice.

I agree

Decisions of Sampo plc's Annual General Meeting

The Annual General Meeting of Sampo plc, held today on 21 April 2016, decided to distribute a dividend of EUR 2.15 per share for 2015. The record date for dividend payment is 25 April 2016 and the dividend is paid on 3 May 2016. The Annual General Meeting adopted the financial accounts for 2015 and discharged the Board of Directors and the Group CEO and President from liability for the financial year.

The Annual General Meeting elected eight members to the Board of Directors. The following members were re-elected to the Board: Jannica Fagerholm, Adine Grate-Axén, Veli-Matti Mattila, Risto Murto, Eira Palin-Lehtinen, Per Arthur Sørlie and Björn Wahlroos. Christian Clausen was elected as a new member to the Board. Of the former members Anne Brunila was not available for re-election. The Members of the Board were elected for a term continuing until the close of the next Annual General Meeting.

At its organizational meeting, the Board elected Björn Wahlroos as Chairman and Eira Palin-Lehtinen as Vice-chairperson. Veli-Matti Mattila, Risto Murto, Eira Palin-Lehtinen and Björn Wahlroos (Chairman) were elected to the Nomination and Compensation Committee and Jannica Fagerholm (Chairman), Christian Clausen, Adine Grate Axén and Per Arthur Sørlie to the Audit Committee. The compositions of the Committees fulfill the Finnish Corporate Governance Code's requirement for independence. The curriculum vitaes of the Board Members are available at

The Annual General Meeting decided to pay the following fees to the members of the Board of Directors until the close of the 2017 Annual General Meeting: the Chairman of the Board will be paid an annual fee of EUR 160,000, the Vice Chairman of the Board will be paid EUR 100,000 and the other members of the Board of Directors will be paid EUR 80,000 each. A Board member shall in accordance with the resolution of the Annual General Meeting acquire Sampo plc's A shares at the price paid in public trading for 50 per cent of his/her annual fee excluding taxes and similar payments.

Ernst & Young Oy was elected as Auditor. The Auditor will be paid a fee determined by an invoice approved by Sampo. Tomi Englund, APA, was elected as the principally responsible auditor.

The Annual General Meeting authorized the Board to repurchase a maximum of 50,000,000 Sampo A shares. Shares will be repurchased in other proportion than the shareholders' proportional shareholdings (directed repurchase). The maximum price to be paid will be highest market price quoted during the authorization period. The authorization will be valid until the close of the next Annual General Meeting, nevertheless not more than 18 months after AGM's decision.

There were 3,226 shareholders represented at the meeting holding altogether 366,334,768 shares and 371,134,768 votes in the company.

The proposals of the Board of Directors and its Nomination and Compensation Committee and Audit Committee approved by the Annual General Meeting were published in stock exchange releases on 10 February 2016. The Board proposals are available in their entirety at

The minutes of the Annual General Meeting will be available for viewing at and at Sampo plc's head office at Fabianinkatu 27, Helsinki, Finland, on 4 May 2016 at the latest.


Jarmo Salonen
Head of Investor Relations and Group Communications
tel. +358 10 516 0030

Maria Silander
Communications Manager
tel. +358 10 516 0031

Nasdaq Helsinki
The principal media
Financial Supervisory Authority